Tags

, ,

As a salty food lover, a co-worker and friend got me a Salty Snacks for my birthday a year ago. I’ve opened it many times, and attempted one or two recipes before, but I finally really committed to making a recipe, and reviewing it here. Instead of doing pretzels, which I will eventually get to, I decided on Poppy Seed Crackers.

Poppy Seed CrackersThis recipe was super simple, and I had all the ingredients at home as I had recently made a lemon poppy seed loaf, so poppy seeds were abundant. I baked the crackers in batches, as I couldn’t fit all the crackers on to one baking sheet. They taste similar to water crackers, or you know the assorted cracker box that comes with the poppy seed water crackers? Something like that, but mine were denser, which I personally really enjoyed.

Naturally I got out some meat, cheese, a little fruit, and made myself a cheese plate for some 5 O’clock Wine, because why not? I have to say I have never had warm crackers, and a warm cracker against cool cheese was a very great taste experience.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Here is the recipe:

– 2 cups all-purpose flour

– 1/4 cup poppy seeds

– 2 teaspoons baking powder

– 1 teaspoon kosher salt

– 1/2 cup water

– 1/2 cup olive oil

Preheat the oven to 375 F and line two baking sheets (or one depending on the size of your oven) with parchment paper.

Stir together the flour, poppy seeds, baking powder and salt.  Make a well in the center and add the water and olive oil and stir until you have a nice dough.  Do not over work the dough, or may become too tough.

Divide the dough into 4 even portions.  Use a pasta machine, or a rolling pin (I substitued with an empty wine bottle) to roll 1 portion out into a rectangle about 1/16 inch thick.  With a pizza cutter, or a normal knife, cut the dough lengthwise into 2 – 3 inch strips.  Then cut across into 2 inch squares or rectangles.  Arrange the dough pieces on the baking sheet so that they are not touching.  Bake th crackers for about 12 -15 minutes, until they are lightly browned.

Continue this process until all of your dough is used!

