Tags

, , , , , , ,

A friend of mine just moved to the East Village, and I had not caught up with him since college. As I was off work that day I offered to meet him in his hood. He suggested a taco place that had never been on my radar, but does happen to be across the street from my favorite dive bar, Tom and Jerry’s. The taco place is called Tacombi at Fonda Nolita. It is on Elizabeth just below Houston.

Disclaimer: I didn’t take any pictures while there so I used some from Interior Junkie.

Interior Daylight

I arrived early, at about 5pm. The place wasn’t crowded yet and I was told I could sit anywhere. I would soon learn that what just happened was a blessing and a fluke. When we finally left, the place was packed and there was a long wait. When I came back for a second round of tacos a few weeks later, I could not be seated without my whole party and there was still a 20-minute wait once the whole party was there.

taco4

Needless to say, it is an awesome and fun taco joint. They have a happy hour that lasts until 7pm which is two for one beverages, pitchers excluded. The tacos are made in an old VW bus. The atmosphere, when crowded, feels like a bit of a Mexican fiesta. They have strung lights across the ceilings, and it is bustling.

The first time I came with Brandon we had a lot to catch up on and started with just drinks. We order some chips and guacamole next as neither of us were too hungry yet. The waiter kept asking us if we’d like to order more, I chose to ignore him as I wanted to just sit and catch up with my friend.

TacoWhen we were finally ready I asked Brandon for some recommendations. He suggested the crispy fish taco.   I order a crispy fish taco, the special taco of the night, and a chicken taco. Brandon got the crispy fish taco, and a chicken quesadilla. He strategized with me to separate the tortillas and disperse the filling as to get a better taco experience. He was right.  I also have to say that the quesadilla is really great, definitely one of the best in New York.

Esquites CornWhen I returned a second time with Brian and Emma, Brian told me that what this place was really well-known for was the Corn Esquites. It is roasted corn, with lime, and chipotle mayo. It is a new take on Mexican corn on the cob, and it is epically delicious. Make sure to give it a stir as to disperse the mayo throughout the corn.

As for cocktails the Paloma’s are delicious. Fresh, tart, with a nice salt rim.

Drinks

While browsing their website I found out that they actually source all of their ingredients from local farmers who are hormone and antibiotic free. Anything that is not locally sourced is bought from Fair Trade farmers in Mexico.

I think this is my new go-to Taco joint, and not going to lie, I’m pretty excited about it.

