Tags

,

Finally getting back into the swing of baking, a hobby of mine that seems to have been put on hold more often than I like it to be. It’s not that I don’t have the time to do it; it’s more that I have nobody to eat my goodies. I know my friends will read this, and go “I would eat it.” But guys, if I was baking every weekend, trust me you’d hate me.

Big Batch PB M&M CookiesI decided to start with something easy and simple, cookies. Who doesn’t love a solid cookie recipe? A go-to recipe if you will. This recipe started from a simple desire from a friend, Chelsea, who craved a box of chocolates. Some how that turned into reading BuzzFeed articles about peanut butter treats, which quickly lead to the idea of making peanut butter cookies. From there I couldn’t resist but add a little flair – some chocolate, some M&Ms, some peanut M&Ms? To be honest the thought of throwing some Recess Pieces in there never crossed our mind, but they might have been the best option. Any who, we decided on Peanut Butter M&M cookies.

PB M&M CookiesI did some research on what other people had happening, and settled on this recipe by Cinnamon-Spice & Everything Nice. I have to say, I’m a soft cookie fan with the exception of Tate’s cookies. I find peanut butter cookies to sometimes be too dry or crumbly, which is also not what I want.
I don’t want to eat peanut butter; I want a cookie that tastes like peanut butter. I also think that the cheaper the brand, the better peanut butter cookies it makes. We went with Skippy’s Super Chunk Peanut Butter, and I have no regrets.

I picked up one of those movie theater-looking boxes of M&Ms and for some reason I just figured it would be full to the brim and sadly it was not. There was some skimpy bag inside, maybe 1.5 times larger than a normal bag of M&Ms, which meant I did not have enough M&Ms for my cookies. So instead, I threw in some of my favorite Ghirardelli’s 70% dark chocolate chips and called it a day.

They turned out to be just the cookie I wanted. Soft, flavorful, not too heavy, and honestly the dark chocolate with the M&Ms gave it a nice sweet to tart ratio. I’m going to have to start with some basic recipes for cookie and start adding weird things into it … chips, pretzels, who knows what’s next.

Up Close PB M&M Cookie

